Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League News, Contest Schedule, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Recently Announced: The IFBB Pro World Masters Bodybuilding Championships makes its return to the IFBB Pro league contest schedule in 2011, reviving pro bodybuilding's elder statesmen for competition. The invitation-only event is slated for December 10, 2011, in Miami, Florida.  

The "So What?": Reports and rumors about previously cancelled, pro-level Masters competitions have made skeptics wary. Yet, award-winning contest promoter Jarka Kastnerova reassures fans that a real competition will be staged a year from now. As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," there are supposedly written confirmations from competitors like 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman, 2008 Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson, 1983 Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Samir Bannout, IFBB Pro Tony Pearson, and IFBB Pro Chris Cormier.

2006 IFBB Masters World Champion IFBB Pro Bob Cicherillo says, "I have talked to Jarka, and I will be on the stage!" But, the question is: as the emcee or as a competitor? It has been mentioned that 6-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dorian Yates might guest pose at the event. Yet, what about champion IFBB Pro League athletes like IFBB Pro Flex Wheeler, IFBB Pro Kevin Levrone or IFBB Pro Shawn Ray -- all of whom are past winners of the Arnold Sports Festival's IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships? And IFBB Pro Francis Benfatto remains in good shape.

Andrew Oye's Verdict: The contest is being touted as a reunion battle for big names from 80's and 90's pro bodybuilding. I join others in hoping that some of the older guys can pull it together enough to give actively competing athletes like Dexter Jackson a fair fight. (Jackson recently placed 4th at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend, where IFBB Pro Jay Cutler collected his fourth Sandow trophy.) Let's not forget, the International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness has crowned some notable champions at the Masters level -- such as 5-time Masters Olympia winner IFBB Pro Vince Taylor and Masters Olympians IFBB Pro Robby Robinson, IFBB Pro Ed Corney, and Samoan IFBB Pro Sonny Schmidt. 

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index