Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League News, Competition Contracts, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: The IFBB Pro League management released an Advisory Notice dated September 23, 2011, which announced new stipulations for IFBB Pro League athletes honoring contracts to compete in pro-level contests. The notice, signed by IFBB Chairman Jim Manion, reads as follows:


Effective 2012, competition contracts must be received by the IFBB Professional League no later than thirty (30) days prior to the competition, failing which a $200 USD late entry fee will be paid by the athlete to the IFBB Professional League in trust for the promoter.

Effective immediately, any competitor who qualifies for the Finals but who fails to participate in the Finals without a legitimate reason (e.g. medical) and without notifying the Head Judge or Promoter before the Finals will be fined $1,000 USD. The fine will be paid to the IFBB Professional League in trust for the promoter. Until the fine is paid in full, the athlete will be prohibited from competing.

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," just days ago, after the crowning of division champions at the 2011 Olympia Fitness and Performance Weekend (including the current MUSCLE INK Magazine cover athlete, new Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Phil Heath unseating the previous bodybuilding champion), the International Federation of Bodybuilding and Fitness (IFBB Pro League) released another Advisory Notice limiting the number of Olympia qualifications awarded at each professional-level contest. Among the changes, at the majority of the competitions on the pro circuit, now only the 1st place winner will automatically qualify to compete at the "Super Bowl of bodybuilding," whereas, in the past, the Top 3 finishers would qualify.  

Andrew Oye's Verdict: Given these back-to-back announcements, the IFBB Pro League is tightening its reins even more in all areas, taking steps to filter out the best competitive physiques and hold them accountable for adhering to the tenets of professional competition. IFBB Pro League athletes must show themselves worthy both physically and professionally if they aim to compete in the sport's most prestigious contests -- the Arnold Sports Festival's IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships and Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend Mr. Olympia Championships -- and win titles held by the likes of Arnold Classic Champs IFBB Pro Flex Wheeler, IFBB Pro Kevin Levrone and IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson, as well as Olympia Sandow trophy-holders IFBB Pro Larry Scott, IFBB Pro Sergio Oliva, IFBB Pro Franco Columbu, IFBB Pro Frank Zane, IFBB Pro Lee Haney, IFBB Pro Dorian Yates, IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman and IFBB Pro Jay Cutler.

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index