Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League News, New IFBB Pro League Cards, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Per the International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness (IFBB Pro League), the National Physique Committee (NPC) will increase the number of new IFFB Pro cards issued at the 2010 NPC USA Bodybuilding, Figure & Bikini Championships in Las Vegas, NV (July 31). Up from 3 pro cards in 2009, the contest judges at the 2010 USAs will now award 4 new IFBB Pro cards to the winners of the upper four (of the seven total) designated weight classes in the Men's Bodybuilding Division.

The "So What?": This news comes as the event organizers brace for what they expect to be record-breaking contestant registration. The contest judges will also award 6 IFBB Pro cards in the Women's Figure Division, 6 IFBB Pro cards in the Women's Bikini Division, and 2 IFBB Pro cards in the Women's Bodybuilding Division. As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro Muscle Report," amateur athletes granted pro status go on to compete on the professional bodybuilding circuit and aspire to step on the most prestigious stages -- the Arnold Sports Festival's IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships and Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend Mr. Olympia Bodybuilding Championships.

Andrew Oye's Verdict: The additional pro card could appease competitors in the lighter weight classes who often complain about being overlooked in favor of heavier competitors during the Overall Finals. More pros cards mean more hungry athletes battling for wins on the IFBB Pro circuit. IFBB Pro League athletes who were past of winners of the NPC USA Bodybuilding Championships include: IFBB Pro J.J. Marsh (1986), IFBB Pro Mike Quinn (1987), IFBB Pro John Defendis (1988), IFBB Pro Eddie Robinson (1989, a powerlifter, former football player and Golden Gloves boxer, who also competed in WWE's Vince McMahon's WBF World Bodybuilding Federation with Quinn), IFBB Pro Aaron Baker (1990), IFBB Pro Mike Matarazzo (1991), IFBB Pro Flex Wheeler (1992), IFBB Pro Chris Cormier (1993), IFBB Pro Dennis Newman (1994), IFBB Pro Phil Hernon (1995), IFBB Pro Ken Brown (1997), IFBB Pro Dennis James (1998), IFBB Pro Melvin Anthony (1999), IFBB Pro Bob Cicherillo (2000), IFBB Pro Idrise Ward-El (2002), IFBB Pro Richard Jones (2003), IFBB Pro Mark Dugdale (2004), IFBB Pro Phil Heath (2005), IFBB Pro Omar Deckard (2006), IFBB Pro Ben White (2007), IFBB Pro Brandon Curry (2008), IFBB Pro Mark Alvisi (2009).  

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index