Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League News, New IFBB Pro League Cards, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Recently Reported: In an effort to clarify questions raised by competitors in the physique sports of the multi-sport event, organizers of Arnold Schwarzenegger's Arnold Sports Festival posted a statement explaining that Arnold Amateur division winners are not automatically granted IFBB Pro cards.

The "So What?": According to the event's website: "Pro cards are not awarded to U.S. competitors who win the Arnold Amateur Men's and Women's Bodybuilding, Fitness, Figure and Bikini competitions. However, Arnold Amateur winners who go on to earn a Pro card through a sanctioned-qualifying event will be invited to compete in a future Arnold Classic, Ms. International, Figure International, Fitness International or Bikini International."

As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," the Arnold Amateur attracts athletes from around the world, including Europe, Asia, Canada and the USA. The 2011 bodybuilding competition will be the fifth annual edition of this contest as part of the prestigious Arnold Sports Festival (which has grown to include a multitude of competitions including wresting, martial arts, weightlifting, Crossfit, strongman, powerlifting, archery, swimming, fencing, boxing, MMA fighting and more).

Andrew Oye's Verdict: IFBB Pro Roelly Winklaar and IFBB Pro Tarek Elsetouhi are impressive examples of recent Arnold Amateur Bodybuilding Championships winners who subsequently competed as pros at the IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships, placing 7th and 11th in 2010, respectively. The Arnold Sports Festival provides the opportunity for athletes who enter the pro ranks of the International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness to qualify to compete at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend, including high-level IFBB Pro League athletes who have previously won the Arnold Classic, such as IFBB Pro Rich Gaspari, IFBB Pro Mike Ashley, IFBB Pro Shawn Ray, 5-time Masters Olympia Champion IFBB Pro Vince Taylor, IFBB Pro Flex Wheeler, IFBB Pro Kevin Levrone, IFBB Pro Mike Francois, IFBB Pro Nasser El Sonbaty, 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman, 4-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Jay Cutler, 2008 Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson, IFBB Pro Victor Martinez and more.   

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index