Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: Legends Update, IFBB Hall of Fame, Special Achievement, Tribute to a Champion, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Legendary 2-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Larry Scott will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2011 IFBB Pro World Masters Bodybuilding Championships. The invitation-only event, to be emceed by 2006 IFBB Masters World Champion IFBB Pro Bob Cicherillo, returns to the IFBB Pro league contest schedule on December 10, 2011, in Miami, Florida.  

The "So What?": Larry Scott won the 1962 Mr. America and 1964 Mr. Universe titles, before becoming the first-ever Mr. Olympia Championships winner in Joe Weider's International Federation of Bodybuilding and Fitness. Scott earned the prestigious title again in 1966. Reportedly, the 73-year-old fitness entrepreneur and 1999 IFBB Hall of Fame inductee will have his latest award presented to him by legendary, 2-time Mr. Universe IFBB Pro Lou Ferrigno, former star of TV's "Incredible Hulk" who recently appeared in a feature cover-story interview with Andrew Oye for MUSCLE INK Magazine about his sports and entertainment careers. As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report" in March, Ferrigno was the recipient of the Arnold Classic Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2011 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships at the Arnold Sports Festival in Columbus, Ohio.

Andrew Oye's Verdict: With reported guest appearances by 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman, 6-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dorian Yates and more, the Pro World Masters competition is being dubbed "The Return of the Legends." Apparently, promoters of this battle of bodybuilding's mature set want to infuse a legendary atmosphere throughout the event -- from competitors, to honorees, to presenters. Honoring Larry Scott, the first to wear the sport's highest crown, is only fitting -- as well as timely, given that just a few months ago, new Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Phil Heath won his first Olympia title and its representative award, the Sandow trophy, at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend in Las Vegas, Nevada, unseating 4-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Jay Cutler. 

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index