Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Legends Update, Fitness Industry Event, Special Appearances, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, IFBB Pro Phil Heath was crowned the 2011 Mr. Olympia at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Mr. Olympia Final Results
1. IFBB Pro Phil Heath
2. IFBB Pro Jay Cutler
3. IFBB Pro K. Greene
4. IFBB Pro Victor Martinez
5. IFBB Pro Dennis Wolf
6. IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson
7. IFBB Pro Toney Freeman
8. IFBB Pro Brandon Curry
9. IFBB Pro Ronny Rockel
10. IFBB Pro Hidetada Yamagishi

The remaining field: IFBB Pro Shawn Rhoden (11th), IFBB Pro Ed Nunn (12th), Powerlifter and IFBB Pro Johnnie Jackson (13th), IFBB Pro Marius Dohne (14th), IFBB Pro Craig Richardson (15th), IFBB Pro Michael Kefalianos (16th), IFBB Pro Troy Alves (16th), IFBB Pro Robert Burneika (16th), IFBB Pro Ben White (16th), IFBB Pro Marc Lavoie (16th), IFBB Pro Evgeny Mishin (16th), IFBB Pro Frank McGrath (16th), IFBB Pro Marcus Haley (16th), IFBB Pro Robert Piotrkowicz (16th).

The "So What?": The victory in Vegas awarded Phil Heath his first Mr. Olympia title in his professional bodybuilding career. After finishing as the 2nd place runner-up at the 2010 Olympia, Heath garnered a fan base and frontrunner momentum that carried him into the 2011 Olympia, upsetting 4-time titleholder Jay Cutler's quest for a fifth Olympia Sandow trophy at this year's contest. As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," last year's 3rd place finisher, "Quadrasaurus" IFBB Pro Branch Warren (winner of the Arnold Sports Festival's 2011 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships) was sidelined with a quad injury and missed the "Super Bowl of bodybuilding."

Andrew Oye's Verdict: Since my pre-contest prediction leaned in his direction to win the main title at the Olympia Fitness and Performance Weekend, the naming of Phil Heath as the 2011 Mr. Olympia is a befitting conclusion for a long-term athlete with a winning record. Among the top IFBB Pro League athletes on the physique scene, he represents a blend of what is currently rewarded on today's bodybuilding stage, (mass with rounded muscle) and what was rewarded on yesteryear's bodybuilding stage (classic structure with a tapered waist).

Born and raised in Seattle, Washington, the former Division I college basketball player won the 2004 NPC Colorado State Bodybuilding Championships and 2005 NPC Junior Nationals. He earned his IFBB Pro card by winning the Heavyweight Class and Overall title at the 2005 NPC USA Bodybuilding Championships. He won his pro debut at the 2006 IFBB Colorado Pro Championships and followed that with a string of either Top 5 finishes or 1st place wins (including the 2006 New York Pro and 2008 Iron Man Pro). Heath's launch into IFBB greatness has officially begun as he claims his space on the Mr. Olympia mantel beside some of his predecessors: IFBB Pro Larry Scott (1965-1966), IFBB Pro Sergio Oliva (1967-1969), IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger (1970-1975, 1980), IFBB Pro Franco Columbu (1976, 1981), IFBB Pro Frank Zane (1977-1979), IFBB Pro Samir Bannout (1983), IFBB Pro Lee Haney (1984-1991), IFBB Pro Dorian Yates (1992-1997), IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman (1998-2005), IFBB Pro Jay Cutler (2006-2007, 2009-2010), IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson (2008).  

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index