Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Olympia Preview, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Promoters of Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend just announced the Olympia Qualification Series Standings for the Open Division competitors vying for spots to compete at the 2012 IFBB Olympia Bodybuilding Championships in Las Vegas, Nevada (September 29).

Mr. Olympia Qualification Series Standings
1. IFBB Pro Toney Freeman, USA, 11 points
2. IFBB Pro Ben Pakulski, Canada, 10 points
3. IFBB Pro Baitollah Abbaspour, Iran, 7 points
3. IFBB Pro Hidetada Yamagishi, Japan, 7 points
5. IFBB Pro Jon Delarosa, USA, 6 points
5. IFBB Pro Fred Smalls, USA, 6 points
7. IFBB Pro Grigori Atoyan, USA, 5 points
8. IFBB Pro Moe Bannout, Lebanon, 4 points
8. IFBB Pro Steve Kuclo, USA, 4 points
8. IFBB Pro Robert Piotrkowicz, Poland, 4 points
8. IFBB Pro Sergey Shelestov, Russia, 4 points
8. IFBB Pro Roelly Winklaar, Netherlands, 4 points
13. IFBB Pro Fouad Abiad, Canada, 3 points
13. IFBB Pro Omar Deckard, USA, 3 points
13. IFBB Pro Flex Lewis, England, 3 points
13. IFBB Pro An Nguyen, USA, 3 points
13. IFBB Pro Feras Saied, Italy, 3 points
18. IFBB Pro V. Ettienne, USA, 2 points
18. IFBB Pro Darryn Onekawa, New Zealand, 2 points
19. IFBB Pro Lee Banks, USA, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Eduardo Correa Da Silva, Brazil, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Adorthus Cherry, USA, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Renaldo Gairy, Canada, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Todd Jewell, USA, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Ed Nunn, USA, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Luke Timms, Australia, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Christopher White, Canada, 1 point

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," the IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series Point System applies to IFBB Pro League athletes' eligibility to compete at the 2012 Olympia Weekend and face reigning Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Phil Heath (current MUSCLE INK Magazine cover athlete). The International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness 2012 contest-circuit competition winners qualified (IFBB Pro Lionel Beyeke, IFBB Pro Evan Centopani, IFBB Pro Michael Kefalianos, IFBB Pro Cedric McMillan, IFBB Pro Juan Morel, IFBB Pro Essa Obaid, 2009 "World's Strongest Bodybuilder" Powerlifting Challenge winner IFBB Pro Johnnie Jackson, IFBB Pro Shawn Rhoden, IFBB Pro Bill Wilmore).

The Series' Top 5 qualify for the 2012 Mr. Olympia contest. In the event of a tie, the competitor with the best Top 5 contest placings will be awarded the qualification.  The 2011 Olympia's Top 5 automatically qualified (IFBB Pro Jay Cutler, IFBB Pro K. Greene, IFBB Pro Victor Martinez, IFBB Pro Dennis Wolf, IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson). IFBB Pro Ronny Rockel also made the list, as well as "Quadrasaurus" IFBB Pro Branch Warren -- winner of the Arnold Sports Festival's 2012 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships.

Andrew Oye's Verdict:
The jury is still deciding if the new Olympia Qualification Series Point System, implemented for the first time in the IFBB Pro League 2012 contest season, served its purpose. I wonder if multiple-winning Mr. Olympia titleholders IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman, IFBB Pro Lee Haney, IFBB Pro Dorian Yates, IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger, IFBB Pro Franco Columbu, IFBB Pro Sergio Oliva and IFBB Pro Larry Scott ever thought a point system of this type would partially help select their successors and future Sandow trophy winners in physique sports. A new era has arrived at the "Super Bowl of bodybuilding."

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index