Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Olympia Preview, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Promoters of Joe Weider's Olympia Fitness & Performance Weekend just announced the Olympia Qualification Series Standings for the 212 Division competitors in contention for the Olympia 212 Showdown, which will be staged for the seventh time during the the 50th Anniversary IFBB Mr. Olympia Bodybuilding Championships in Las Vegas, NV (September 18-21).

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," the IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series Point System applies to IFBB Pro League athletes' eligibility to compete at the 2014 Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend and challenge reigning 2-time Olympia 212 Showdown Champion IFBB Pro Flex Lewis (current MUSCLE INK Magazine cover athlete). 2014 IFBB contest-circuit competition winners who qualified include: IFBB Pro Hidetada Yamagishi (Japan), IFBB Pro James "Flex" Lewis (United Kingdom), IFBB Pro Jose Raymond (USA), IFBB Pro William Bonac (Netherlands), IFBB Pro Aaron Clark (USA), IFBB Pro Charles Dixon (USA), IFBB Pro Sami Al Haddad (Bahrain), and, with two contest wins each, IFBB Pro David Henry (USA) and IFBB Pro Guy Cisternino (USA).

The Series' Top 5 point-scorers qualify for the 2014 Olympia Showdown contest at "the Super Bowl of bodybuilding." In the event of a tie, the competitor with the best top five contest placings will be awarded the qualification. The 2013 Olympia Showdown's Top 5 finishers automatically qualified (IFBB Pro David Henry, IFBB Pro Kevin English, IFBB Pro Jose Raymond, IFBB Pro Eduardo Correa Da Silva).

212 Showdown Olympia Qualification Series Standings
1. IFBB Pro Mark Dugdale,USA, 12 points
2. IFBB Pro Raul Carrasco Jimenez, Spain, 11 points
3. IFBB Pro Ahmad Ahmad, Sweden, 9 points
4. IFBB Pro Baitollah Abbaspour, Iran, 8 points
5. IFBB Pro Mboya Edwards, Canada, 7 points
6. IFBB Pro Tricky Jackson, USA, 6 points
6. IFBB Pro Marvin Ward, USA, 6 points
9. IFBB Pro Thomas Benagli, Italy, 5 points
10. IFBB Pro Curtis Bryant, USA, 4 points
10. IFBB Pro M. Cambal, Slovakia, 4 points
10. IFBB Pro Shaun Joseph-Tavernier, United Kingdom, 4 points
10. IFBB Pro Marco Rivera, USA, 4 points
10. IFBB Pro Petr Vanis, Czech Republic, 4 points
15. IFBB Pro Mike Debenham, Australia, 3 points
15. IFBB Pro Mehdi Hatami, Iran, 3 points
17. IFBB Pro Salah Ibrahim, New Zealand, 2 points
17. IFBB Pro Jan Kubik, Czech Republic, 2 points
19. IFBB Pro M. Cardona, Colombia, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Cory Mathews, USA, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Sam Mohammad, New Zealand, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Luke O., Czech Republic, 1 point
19. IFBB Pro Mirsad Terzo, Bosnia, 1 point

Andrew Oye's Verdict: Launched during the 2012 IFBB Pro League contest season, the Olympia Qualification Series ended its 2014 edition with some interesting results. Last year's top point-scorers like Mark Dugdale and Raul Carrasco-Jimenez still landed high on the leaderboard, but they were leapfrogged by ladder-climbing champs like Aaron Clark. Vet Tricky Jackson got bumped; IFBB Pro Troy Alves retired; and the pre-Olympia circuit contests were won by Hide Yamagishi, a former Open Division competitor, but mostly dominated by the usual 212 Division names: Gaetano Cisternino, David Henry and Flex Lewis, who won the inaugural IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships 212 Class contest at the 2014 Arnold Sports Festival.

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index