Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Special Appearances, Legends Update, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson was crowned 2012 Masters Mr. Olympia, winning 1st place at the 2012 IFBB Masters Olympia Championships in Miami, Florida. IFBB Pro Toney Freeman was the 2nd place runner-up. The 3rd place spot went to IFBB Pro Dennis James, who made a comeback to physique competition after he had announced his retirement in 2010.

Placings for some of the remaining field: IFBB Pro Ed Nunn (4th), "The Rock" IFBB Pro Ronny Rockel (5th), IFBB Pro Michael Kefalianos (6th), IFBB Pro Darrem Charles (7th), IFBB Pro Bill Wilmore (8th), IFBB Pro Troy Alves (9th), IFBB Pro Drew Jemmott (10th), IFBB Pro Tricky Jackson (11th), IFBB Pro Lee Banks (12th), former Tampa Bay Buccaneers' NFL Pro football player IFBB Pro Nathan Wonsley (13th), IFBB Pro Jerome Ferguson (14th), and IFBB Pro Sean Allan (15th).

The "So What?": At his 61st pro bodybuilding contest, 43-year-old Dexter "The Blade" Jackson clocked his 15th victory and became the first athlete to earn both Mr. Olympia (in 2008) and Masters Mr. Olympia titles. As previously reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," efforts to scale the Masters Olympia "Return of the Legends" event akin to Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend or the Arnold Sports Festival's IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships took the form of a large expo, a legends-filled Hall of Fame Seminar (with 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Lee Haney, 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman, 6-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dorian Yates and more), and the third largest cash prize (after the aforementioned prestigious events).

Andrew Oye's Verdict:
Like last year's IFBB Pro World Masters Championships, currently competitive IFBB Pro League athletes dominated the Masters Olympia's final top spots over less-active pros or long-retired pros who made their way back to the stage specifically for this Masters-level contest. Granted, there is an immediate physical advantage for some of the athletes who compete on the current IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series circuit; hence, some fans felt contenders such as Ed Nunn, Ronny Rockel, Darrem Charles and Troy Alves, could (or should) have taken the 3rd place spot.

Congrats to 2008 Mr. Olympia and 3-time Arnold Classic Champion Dexter Jackson -- one of the most competitive and decorated athletes in the International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness -- who, after almost ten years without a Masters Olympia contest, becomes the latest addition to the line of previous Masters Mr. Olympia winners: IFBB Pro Robby Robinson, IFBB Pro Sonny Schmidt, IFBB Pro Don Youngblood, IFBB Pro Claude Groulx and 5-time Champion IFBB Pro Vince Taylor.

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index