Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Legends Update, Special Honors, Lifetime Achievement Award, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, IFBB Pro Shawn Rhoden shined as the 1st place winner of the Open Division at the 2012 IFBB Tampa Pro Bodybuilding Championships in Florida. Another pre-contest favorite, IFBB Pro Toney Freeman was awarded 2nd place. IFBB Pro Hidetada Yamagishi, who had taken 2nd place at this contest in 2011, fell to 3rd place this year. IFBB Pro Roelly Winklaar took 4th place, and IFBB Pro Lee Banks finished in 5th place.

The remaining field: IFBB Pro Brandon Curry (6th), IFBB Pro Jason Huh (7th), in his pro debut IFBB Pro Todd Jewell (8th), IFBB Pro Pablo Ayala Zayas (9th), IFBB Pro K. Williams (10th), IFBB Pro Manuel Romero (11th), IFBB Pro Alexandre Nataf (12th), IFBB Pro Clarence DeVis (13th), former Tampa Bay Buccaneers NFL Football player IFBB Pro Nathan Wonsley (14th), IFBB Pro Manuel Lomeli (15th), followed by IFBB Pro Wendell Floyd, in his pro debut IFBB Pro Timmy Gaillard, IFBB Pro James Hampton, IFBB Pro Cesar Mendible, IFBB Pro Zaher Moukahal, and IFBB Pro Peter Porczi.

The "So What?":
This marked Shawn "Flexatron" Rhoden's first victory in his professional bodybuilding career. As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," the IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series Point System (1st automatic qualification, 2nd - 4 Points, 3rd - 3 Points, 4th - 2 Points, 5th - 1 Point) applies to IFBB Pro League athletes' eligibility to compete against Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Phil Heath at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend (September 29) in Las Vegas. Last year's winner, IFBB Pro Marius Dohne, did not compete this year. IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson, who just hosted his annual NPC Dexter Jackson Classic Championships a week prior, was presented with the Ben Weider Lifetime Achievement Award at the Tampa Pro Championships. Jackson is the 2008 Mr. Olympia titleholder, 2011 Pro World Masters Champion, a 3-time Arnold Classic Champion, and a relatively consistent Top 5 finisher in IFBB Pro Olympia-qualifying contests since earning his IFBB Pro card at the North American Championships in 1998.

Andrew Oye's Verdict:
Rising from an 8th place finish at the Arnold Sports Festival's 2012 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships back in March (won by IFBB Pro Branch Warren) to the winner's spot in Tampa against a fairly tough lineup is impressive for Shawn Rhoden. As I mentioned before, I see promise in Rhoden's future. With symmetry and classic physique lines wrapped in round muscle bellies, Rhoden is being likened to IFBB Pro Flex Wheeler (a comparison once also made about Toney Freeman, who continued the tradition of the X-frame physique). Now retired, Wheeler collected five Top 5 Olympia finishes and set a record for four Arnold Classic wins. Rhoden could follow a similar (or possibly more prosperous) path.

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index