Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, IFBB Pro Moe Bannout won with the 1st place award in the Open Division at the Europa Games 2014 IFBB Phoenix Pro Bodybuilding Championships in Arizona. Powerlifter IFBB Pro Johnnie Jackson pulled the 2nd place runner-up spot. In his pro debut, IFBB Pro Brad Rowe reaped 3rd place. Powerlifter IFBB Pro Ben White took 4th place, trailed by IFBB Pro Fred Smalls in 5th place.

The remaining field: IFBB Pro Grigori Atoyan (6th), IFBB Pro Pablo Ayala Zayas (7th), IFBB Pro An Nguyen (8th), IFBB Pro Franklin Roberson (9th), IFBB Pro Lloyd Dollar (10th), IFBB Pro Mike Johnson (11th), IFBB Pro Nikitas Manolakas (12th), and IFBB Pro Alden Gamet (13th).

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," the IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series Point System: (1st automatic qualification, 2nd - 4 Points, 3rd - 3 Points, 4th - 2 Points, 5th - 1 Point) applies to IFBB Pro League athletes' eligibility to compete at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend to face reigning Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Phil Heath. There was no IFBB Open Division contest staged at the 2013 Europe Games in Phoenix (212 Division IFBB Pro David Henry won last year's Phoenix Pro). The Europa Games Expo also featured IFBB Pro Physique, Fitness, and Figure contests, USPA Powerlifting Championships, MMA, wrestling, and more. WSM World's Strongest Man competitor and 3-time America's Strongest Man Derek Poundstone emceed the 2014 America's Strongest Man contest won by Dimitar Savatinov. A Legends Seminar featured 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman.

Andrew Oye's Verdict: Moe Bannout's victory at the Phoenix Pro Championships comes with many extra layers of "icing on the cake." It is the first win of his professional bodybuilding career. (Previously, his highest placing had been a 2nd place finish at the 2012 Battle of Champions in Hartford, Connecticut, won by IFBB Pro Juan Morel.) The win grants an automatic invitation to the Arnold Sports Festival's 2015 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships. (Though he competed at the 2013 Arnold Classic Brasil, won by IFBB Pro Brandon Curry, next year will mark Bannout's debut at the long-running Arnold Classic USA, won in 2014 by IFBB Pro Dennis Wolf.) And the Phoenix victory earns an automatic qualification to the 2015 Olympia, which will mark Moe Bannout's debut at the "Super Bowl of bodybuilding." (This news arrives only a month after his cousin, 1983 Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Samir Bannout, was honored with his fellow Olympians at the 50th Anniversary Mr. Olympia Championships in Las Vegas.)

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index