Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, IFBB Pro Hidetada Yamagishi won 1st place in the 212 Division at the 2014 IFBB Tampa Pro Bodybuilding Championships. IFBB Pro Marvin Ward was named the 2nd place runner-up. Taking 3rd place, IFBB Pro Tricky Jackson was trailed by IFBB Pro Thomas Benagli in 4th place and IFBB Pro Baitollah Abbaspour in 5th place.

Some of the remaining field: part-time powerlifter, IFBB Pro Derik Farnsworth (6th), IFBB Pro Cory Mathews (7th), IFBB Pro Wendell Floyd (8th), IFBB Pro Darron Glenn (9th), IFBB Pro Fernando Almeida (10th), IFBB Pro Milton Martinez (11th), IFBB Pro Ray Arde (12th), IFBB Pro Derek Leverant (13th), IFBB Pro Gilmar Desouza (15th), followed by the (16th place) non-placing athletes: IFBB Pro John Frederick Arendsz, IFBB Pro Alejandro Cambronero, IFBB Pro Jocelyn Jean, IFBB Pro Emro Karaduzovic, IFBB Pro Daron Lytle, IFBB Pro Anthony Paitaris, IFBB Pro Luis Santa and IFBB Pro Rixio Tapia.

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro Muscle Report," the IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series Point System (1st automatic qualification, 2nd - 4 Points, 3rd - 3 Points, 4th - 2 Points, 5th - 1 Point) applies to IFBB Pro League athletes' eligibility to compete at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend (September 18-21) in Las Vegas to challenge reigning Olympia 212 Showdown Champ IFBB Pro Flex Lewis. There were several pro debuts by athletes who recently earned IFBB Pro cards: Martinez (2014 NPC Masters National Bodybuilding Championships), Leverant (2013 NPC USA Bodybuilding Championships), and  Cambronero (2013 IFBB North American Bodybuilding Championships).

Andrew Oye's Verdict: There was no 212 Division contest held at last year's Tampa Pro Championships, so these athletes should be thankful that there was one last opportunity to earn a chance to compete at Olympia Weekend, which celebrates the 30th Anniversary Olympia Championships. The Florida win was Hidetada Yamagishi's highest placing since switching from the Open Class to 212 Class. He had placed 2nd at the 2014 Chicago Pro Championships and 4th at the first 212 contest at the Arnold Sports Festival's 2014 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships (where Flex Lewis won the 212 Class and IFBB Pro Dennis Wolf won the Open Class). Some of the competitors who have already qualified to participate at the historic event in Las Vegas: IFBB Pro Guy Cisternino, IFBB Pro Eduardo Correa, IFBB Pro Kevin English, IFBB Pro David Henry, and IFBB Pro Jose Raymond.

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index