Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, IFBB Pro Aaron Clark was crowned the 1st place winner of the 212 Division at the 2014 New York Pro Bodybuilding Championships, leaping from his 4th place spot last year. Fresh off a win at the Europa Super Show in Dallas, IFBB Pro Guy Cisternino was named the 2nd place runner-up. IFBB Pro Baitollah Abbaspour took 3rd place. IFBB Pro Marco Rivera jumped one peg from last year, taking 4th place. IFBB Pro Curtis Bryant claimed the 5th place spot.

Some of the remaining field: IFBB Pro Craig Richardson (6th), IFBB Pro Marvin Ward (7th), Olympic weightlifter and IFBB Pro Amit Sapir (10th), IFBB Pro Mike Yablon (11th), IFBB Pro Thomas Benagli (12th), IFBB Pro Shaun Clarida (13th), making his pro debut IFBB Pro Steven Silverman (14th), IFBB Pro Stan Mcquay (15th), and IFBB Pro Guy Ducasse, IFBB Pro Abiu Feliz, IFBB Pro Milton Holloway, Jr., IFBB Pro Bryan Pazdzierz, IFBB Pro Gregory Ulysse, IFBB Pro Panexce Pierre, IFBB Pro Breon Ansley.

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro Muscle Report," the IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series Point System applies to IFBB Pro League athletes' eligibility to compete at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend 212 Showdown (September 18-21) in Las Vegas to face reigning Olympia 212 Showdown Champion IFBB Pro Flex Lewis. The New York Pro is a Tier 2 contest, i.e., one of few to award more points per placing than Tier 4 contests: (1st automatic qualification, 2nd - 6 Points, 3rd - 5 Points, 4th - 4 Points, 5th - 3 Points). After earning an IFBB Pro card by winning the Heavyweight Class at the 2012 NPC USA Bodybuilding Championships, Aaron Clark made his pro debut at this contest in 2013. (IFBB Pro Mamdouh Elssbiay, a.k.a. "Big Ramy," won the 2014 New York Pro Open Class.)

Andrew Oye's Verdict: Following a 3rd place runner-up finish to IFBB James Flex Lewis at the Arnold Sports Festival's first IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships 212 Division contest in March, the 2014 New York Pro marks Aaron Clark's first pro-level contest victory. The well respected New York Pro contest (formerly known as the IFBB Night of Champions) counts among its short list of previous champions of the 212 Division (since being added in 2008): IFBB Pro Jose Raymond and IFBB Pro Kevin English. The long list of past Open Division winners (since 1978) includes: 3-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Phil Heath, IFBB Pro Robby Robinson, IFBB Pro Albert Beckles, IFBB Pro Phil Hill, IFBB Pro Mohammed Benaziza, IFBB Pro Porter Cottrell, IFBB Pro Mike Francois, IFBB Pro Chris Cormier, IFBB Pro Paul Dillet, IFBB Pro Orville Burke, IFBB Pro Darrem Charles, IFBB Pro Melvin Anthony, IFBB Pro Mike Francois, IFBB Pro Evan Centopani, IFBB Pro Roelly Winklaar and more.

On a side note, kudos to Baitollah Abbaspour, who has one of the best abdominal "vacuum" poses in the business (after Schwarzenegger and the master of the "vacuum" -- legendary 3-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Frank Zane). Abbaspour must lack internal organs (I'm kidding), because when he hits the "vacuum," he pulls his abdominal wall to his spine and makes his waistline virtually disappear!  

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index