Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, Arizona local IFBB Pro Troy Alves trampled the competition in the Open Division at the 2011 IFBB Phoenix Pro Bodybuilding Championships. IFBB Pro Hidetada Yamagishi finished in 2nd place. IFBB Pro Ed Nunn took the 3rd place spot. IFBB Pro Marcus Haley landed in 4th place, and IFBB Pro Alfonso Del Rio in 5th place.

The remaining field: Powerlifter IFBB Pro Robert Piotrkowicz (6th), IFBB Pro Jeff Long (7th), IFBB Pro Abbas Khatami (8th), IFBB Pro Mike Liberatore (8th), IFBB Pro Mark Alvisi (9th), IFBB Pro Manuel Lomeli (11th), IFBB Pro Oscar Tua Dexter (12th), IFBB Pro Fred Smalls (13th), IFBB Pro Omar Deckard (14th), IFBB Phil Von Kaenel (15th), followed by non-placing IFBB Pro Rod Ketchens, IFBB Pro Erwin Marquez, IFBB Pro Bola Ojex, IFBB Pro Benjamin Parra, and IFBB Pro Grant Andre Pieterse

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," the Top 3 IFBB Pro League athletes at the Phoenix Pro Championships earn Olympia qualifications to challenge 4-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Jay Cutler at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend in Las Vegas (September 16). After previously mentioning retirement in 2-3 years' time back in 2009, Troy Alves is currently experiencing a resurgence on the pro bodybuilding scene. He won the Hartford Pro three weeks ago. The former baseball player, who turns 44 years old next month, placed 5th at last year's Phoenix Pro, which was won by IFBB Pro Melvin Anthony (who has been missing from the pro circuit since the 2010 Australian Grand Prix). The 2011 Phoenix Pro did not host a 202 Division (won by IFBB Pro Roc Shabazz in 2010), and it was the second-to-last Olympia qualifier.

Andrew Oye's Verdict: A former collegiate baseball star and US Air Force serviceman, Troy Alves is a member of what I coined the ABC (Aesthetic Bodybuilders Club), competing with a physique that is not overly massive, but instead highlights classic lines. Unfortunately, this means his glory on the pro contest circuit probably won't translate to the Olympia stage, which, in modern times, rewards athletes who carry more mass -- such as Cutler, 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman and 6-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dorian Yates. While the 2008 crowning of Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson -- who has also won three editions of the Arnold Sports Festival's IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships (won in 2011 by IFBB Pro Branch Warren) -- gave less massive competitors a pinch of hope, it marked a short-lived shift in judging direction at the "Super Bowl of bodybuilding."

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index