Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Competitors List, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop:
Just Announced: Organizers of the Sheru Classic just released the list of IFBB Pro League athletes that will compete at the 2012 Asian Grand Prix Pro Bodybuilding Championships in New Delhi, India (October 6).

Open Class Competitors
IFBB Pro Toney Freeman
IFBB Pro K. Greene
IFBB Pro Phil Heath
IFBB Pro Todd Jewell
IFBB Pro Michael Kefalianos
IFBB Pro Ed Nunn
IFBB Pro Sergey Shelestov
IFBB Pro Ben White
IFBB Pro Roelly Winklaar

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," last year's debut of the Asian Grand Prix Pro Championships marked Asia's first IFBB-sanctioned pro bodybuilding contest. This year's installment also occurs just one week after the culmination of the 2012 IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend in Las Vegas, Nevada, where 2-time Mr. Olympia Phil Heath earned his second consecutive victory and Sandow trophy. Heath's predecessor, 4-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Jay Cutler had been scheduled to compete, but he chose not to compete at the Olympia and will not flex on stage in New Delhi. Reportedly, IFBB Pro Branch Warren will honor a previously scheduled guest-posing commitment in Ohio and will also skip the Grand Prix event.

Tough-as-nails Todd Jewell, who earned his IFBB Pro card by winning the Super-Heavyweight Class and Overall title at the National Physique Committee's 2011 NPC National Bodybuilding Championships steps on stage following a recent car wreck. In a statement dated September 25, 2012, Jewell wrote, "I was involved in a very serious auto accident yesterday but managed to walk away with only 2 broken bones and a concussion. I will attempt to step on stage in 11 days at the Sheru Classic in spite of these injuries."

Andrew Oye's Verdict:
Final placements similar to the Olympia contest's final rankings of IFBB Pro athletes could result. Hence, last year's Asian Grand Prix Champion and the reigning Mr. Olympia Phil Heath (who skipped the Arnold Sports Festival's 2012 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships, won by "Quadrasaurus" Branch Warren) will likely emerge victorious again. (While it's not easy to fathom beating a recently crowned champ at the "Super Bowl of bodybuilding" for the International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness, it's worth noting that back in 1992, IFBB Pro Gunter Schlierkamp defeated reigning Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman at a post-Olympia contest in New Orleans.)

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index