Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: Contest Results, New IFBB Pro League Cards, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, Brian Yersky won the Super-Heavyweight Class and the Overall title at the 2012 NPC National Bodybuilding Championships in Atlanta, Georgia. As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," winning athletes at the National Physique Committee NPC Nationals earn IFBB Pro cards and qualification to compete in International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness contests.

The "So What?": New IFBB Pro Brian Yersky had placed 3rd in the Super-Heavyweight Class at last year's NPC National Bodybuilding Championships (won by IFBB Pro Todd Jewell). Top athletes (1st and 2nd, respectively) in each weight class were also awarded IFBB Pro cards: Anthoneil Champagnie in the Super-Heavyweight Class. Justin Compton and Lloyd Dollar, Heavyweight Class. Adam Cohen and Cory Mathews, Light-Heavyweight Class. Anthony Pairaris and Steven Silverman, Middleweight Class. Art Shahnazarian and Brandon Williams, Welterweight Class. Chris Darby and Johnny McKnight, Lightweight Class. Shaun Clarida and Alejandro Ojeda, Bantamweight Class.

Andrew Oye's Verdict:
Some people disagree with awarding professional-athlete status to the 2nd place finishers in each class, which happened at the NPC National Championships for the first time this year. Yet, to promoters and others, the skyrocketing contestant pools at the limited pro-qualifier contests seemingly justify it. The real issue arises in instances where the quality between the 1st and 2nd place athletes varies greatly. Once these athletes hit the competitive pro circuit, the newly implemented IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series Points System will sift the clutter from the physiques that are "a cut above" before Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend.

Previous NPC Nationals winners: 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Lee Haney, IFBB Pro Gary Strydom (2-time champion of WWE CEO Vince McMahon's WBF World Bodybuilding Federation), Hall of Fame IFBB Pro Shawn Ray, IFBB Pro Vince Taylor (5-time Masters Olympia winner), IFBB Pro Troy Zuccolotto (WBF BodyStar), Hall of Fame IFBB Pro Kevin Levrone, IFBB Pro Mike Francois (Arnold Sports Festival IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Champion), "Quadzilla" IFBB Pro Paul Demayo, IFBB Pro Aaron Maddron, IFBB Pro Victor Martinez (Arnold Classic Europe Champion), IFBB Pro Johnnie Jackson ("World's Strongest Bodybuilder" Powerlifting Challenge winner), IFBB Pro Toney Freeman, IFBB Pro Mat DuVall, IFBB Pro Evan Centopani, IFBB Pro Cedric McMillan, IFBB Pro Robert Burneika (MMA fighter).

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index