Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Legends Update, Special Achievement, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Over the weekend, 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Lee Haney was honored with the Ben Weider Lifetime Achievement Award at the IFBB Tampa Bay Pro Bodybuilding Championships. An IFBB Hall of Fame member, Haney was a Joe Weider-sponsored athlete for the span of his competitive career until he retired from the competitive contest stage at just 31 years old. "I'm honored and thrilled to have received [this award]," said Haney of his recognition. "Mr. Weider did so much for the sport. We're in more than 180 countries now. The work and dedication it took to make that happen was just incredible."

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report" Lee Haney earned his IFBB Pro card by winning the first-ever NPC National Bodybuilding Championship in 1982. The Lifetime Achievement Award honored Haney for his numerous achievements and contributions to the industry. The 50-year-old bodybuilding legend operates heath, nutrition and certification businesses; promotes the Lee Haney Bodybuilding Fitness & Figure Challenge; mentors youth; authors books; hosts programs; and has served as Chairman to the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports under the Clinton Administration.
Andrew Oye's Verdict: Lee Haney's Lifetime Achievement Award is a much-deserved accolade for a true gentlemen, bodybuilding ambassador and sportsman whose classic physique dominated the Mr. Olympia stage at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend (from 1984-1991), collecting the sport's highest title and its accompanying Sandow trophy -- a feat accomplished by a select set of athletes in the pantheon of International Federation of Bodybuilding and Fitness (IFBB Pro League) champions, including IFBB Pro Larry Scott, IFBB Pro Sergio Oliva, IFBB Pro Frank Zane, IFBB Pro Franco Columbu, IFBB Pro Samir Bannout, IFBB Pro Dorian Yates, IFBB Pro Jay Cutler, IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson, IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger (creator of the Arnold Sports Festival's Arnold Classic Bodybuilding Championships) and IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman (the only man to this day to match Haney's record of eight consecutive wins).

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index