Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: Sports Hall of Fame, Special Event, Legends Update, Andrew Oye's Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced -- The International Sports Hall of Fame (ISHOF) inducts a new class of select honorees as part of the world's largest multi-sport festival, the Arnold Sports Festival in Columbus, OH, (February 27 to March 2), which hosts the 26th Annual IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships.

The "So What?": The 2014 Hall of Fame Inductees and recipients of ISHOF gold medallions: IFBB Pro Lee Haney (joint-record-holding 8-time Mr. Olympia [with IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman] and former chairman of the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports); Jason Statham (Hollywood action movie star, British national diving team); Cynthia Rothrock (action film and TV star, 5-time World Karate Champion); Dan Gable (16 NCAA title-winning wrestling head coach, 1972 Olympic Gold Medal winner); and the Weider family -- Joe Weider, Betty Weider and Ben Weider (founder of the IFBB International Federation of Bodybuilding + Fitness, Mr. Olympia contest, Olympia Weekend, and publishing and nutrition empires).

Formed by Dr. Robert Goldman MD, PhD, DO, FAASP, an anti-aging pioneer, world record-holding athlete and Chairman of Sports Medicine committees in over 180 nations, the ISHOF inducted its first class in 2012. Goldman wanted to create a comprehensive Hall of Fame that recognized athletes of all sports worldwide for remarkable athletic contributions, as well as "their human capacity for giving back to society through charitable works."

Andrew Oye's Verdict: The ISHOF is a great celebration of excellence across a broad range of sports, fitness, and action-based pursuits.  As previously reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," the 2013 ISHOF Class presented at the 25th Anniversary Arnold Classic: IFBB Pro Franco Columbu (World's Strongest Man competitor, Olympic weightlifter and 2-time Mr. Olympia); Archie Griffin (only 2-time winner of college football's prestigious Heisman Trophy); Earl "The Pearl" Monroe (NBA Hall of Fame basketball player); Bruno Sammartino (longest-running World Wide Wrestling Federation WWWF wrestling champion); and Blaine Carew Wilson (first 5-time consecutive USA Gymnastics national champion).
The 2012 ISHOF Class: IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger (movie star, 7-time Mr. Olympia and former California Governor); Mark Henry (World's Strongest Man competitor, WWE wrestling and weightlifting champion); Randy Couture (mixed martial arts and Ultimate Fighting Championships UFC world champion); Jack LaLanne (fitness icon and legend); IFBB Pro Cory Everson (6-time Ms. Olympia); and James Lorimer (Arnold Classic/Sports Festival promoter).

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index