Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Arnold Sports Festival, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, IFBB Pro James "Flex" Lewis was crowned the first-ever winner of the Arnold Sports Festival's inaugural 212 Division Men's Bodybuilding contest at the 2014 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships in Columbus, OH. IFBB Pro David Henry was named 2nd place runner-up. IFBB Pro Aaron Clark took 3rd place. In his 212 Division debut, IFBB Pro Hidetada Yamagishi finished in 4th place. IFBB Pro Jose Raymond was the 5th place finisher, trailed by IFBB Pro Charles Dixon in 6th place. The rest of the field placed as follows: IFBB Pro Luke O. (7th), IFBB Pro Tricky Jackson (8th), IFBB Pro Stan McQuay 
(9th), IFBB Pro Angel Rangel Vargas (10th), IFBB Pro Marco Rivera (11th) and IFBB Pro Quincy Winklaar (12th).

The "So What?": As reported in 'Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report,' the IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series Point System: (1st automatic qualification, 2nd - 8 Points, 3rd - 7 Points, 4th - 6 Points, 5th - 5 Points) applies to IFBB Pro League athletes' eligibility to compete at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend in Las Vegas to face reigning Olympia 212 Showdown Champion IFBB Pro Flex Lewis. The Arnold Classic is a Tier 1 contest, i.e., one of few to award more points per placing than Tiers 2, 3 and 4 contests.

Andrew Oye's Verdict: It wasn't a stellar weekend for the family from Curacao, as Quincy Winklaar was the sole representative, because his brother, Open Division competitor IFBB Pro Roelly Winklaar, did not compete due to a motorcycle accident. The Arnold Classic was Aaron Clark's second pro contest since earning his IFBB Pro card at the 2012 NPC USA Bodybuilding Championships then placing 4th at the 2013 New York Pro Championships, won by Jose Raymond -- who attempted extreme physique graininess in Ohio. Even with improved leg development, the first-ever Olympia 212/202 Showdown Champion David Henry couldn't take the first Arnold Classic 212 title from his fellow Olympian Lewis.

The word is Flex Lewis may move into the Open Division after the 2014 Olympia and that he might take a year off to prepare for the shift. If Lewis intends to enter a division populated by the likes of 3-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Phil Heath, IFBB Pro Dennis Wolf (2014 Arnold Classic Open-Division Champ) and IFBB Pro Shawn Rhoden, he will need every day of that year to think about such a decision.

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index