Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Legends Update, Special Honors, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, IFBB Pro Dennis Wolf was declared an Arnold Classic champion -- for the second time in one year -- winning 1st place at the 2014 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Europe Bodybuilding Championships in Madrid, Spain. IFBB Pro Shawn Rhoden finished in a close 2nd place, rising from 4th place last year. IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson took 3rd place, which had been occupied by Wolf last year. Up one spot from 2013, IFBB Pro Victor Martinez captured 4th place. IFBB Pro Roelly Winklaar filled the 5th slot, a notch above his placing last year. 

The remaining field: IFBB Pro William Bonac (6th), IFBB Pro Juan Morel (7th), IFBB Pro Robert Piotrkowicz (8th), IFBB Pro Michael Kefalianos (9th), IFBB Pro Jon Delarosa (10th), and IFBB Pro Fred Smalls (11th).

The "So What?": As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," the IFBB Pro Olympia Qualification Series Point System: (1st automatic qualification, 2nd - 6 Points, 3rd - 5 Points, 4th - 4 Points, 5th - 3 Points) applies to IFBB Pro League athletes' eligibility to compete at the 2015 Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend to face reigning Mr. Olympia Phil Heath in Las Vegas (September). This was the first contest of the new IFBB OQS season. The Arnold Classic Europe is a Tier 2 contest, i.e., one of few to award more points per placing than Tier 3 and Tier 4 contests. After winning the Arnold Sports Festival's 2014 Arnold Classic USA in March, Dennis Wolf became the fourth Arnold Classic Europe champion, following 2013 winner 4-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Phil Heath (who did not return to defend the ACE title), 2012 champ Shawn Rhoden and 2011 winner Victor Martinez. In addition to the bodybuilding, strongman, powerlifting, fitness, MMA, wrestling, CrossFit and martial arts competitions at the expo, the event's namesake received a special honor. Actor, former California Governor, and legendary 7-time Mr. Olympia Arnold Schwarzenegger was named the first-ever Ambassador of Tourism by the City of Madrid.

Andrew Oye's Verdict: What happened in a week's time to propel Dennis Wolf from 4th place at the Olympia, behind 3rd place Shawn Rhoden, to Arnold Classic Europe victor, ahead of 2nd place Rhoden? Whatever it was worked for the judges in Madrid, and provided Wolf with the first-time record of two Arnold Classic bodybuilding titles in a single year. Undoubtedly, Wolf had fewer hurdles on his way to his ACE win, avoiding the added pressure of certain contenders -- namely, Phil Heath and other athletes who were on the pre-contest competitors list but did not ultimately make it to the stage, such as IFBB Pro Mamdouh Elssbiay (a.k.a. "Big Ramy").

On that note, Elssbiay had actually taken 7th place at the 50th Anniversary Mr. Olympia Championships (a.k.a. the "Super Bowl of bodybuilding") after suffering a torn hamstring muscle (just a month prior) that ultimately caught up with him in Spain. According to contest-prep coach IFBB Pro Dennis James, Elssbiay was ready to participate. "He realized that the pain was so severe that he could not step onstage and compete, knowing he couldn't squeeze and flex the way he needed to in order to be competitive. So he decided to not go onstage...He is very sorry and wants [fans] to know that he tried his best but sometimes even a warrior spirit is not enough and some injuries just need time to heal."

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index