Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Sports Festival, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, at the Veterans Memorial Auditorium in Columbus, OH, IFBB Pro K. Greene was crowned the overall winner of the 2009 IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic Bodybuilding Championships. IFBB Pro Victor Martinez placed 2nd in the big show. IFBB Pro Branch Warren took 3rd place. IFBB Pro Toney Freeman nabbed 4th place, followed by IFBB Pro Silvio Samuel in 5th place.

The "So What?": The new champ entered the fray with a groundswell of fan support. There were grumblings that health issues would prevent him from taking the stage. Yet, Greene had enjoyed a prosperous 2008--  going from struggling athlete to sponsored star with a media contract and a sports-nutrition endorsement deal. Greene, who placed 3rd at last year's Arnold Classic (won by IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson), took this year's crown by sporting full, round muscle bellies that mushroomed all over his frame. His low hanging lats enhance the visual effect of a tapered waist that flows into sweeping quads and hanging hams. Greene performed his signature posing style that yielded yet another "Best Poser" Award.

2007 Arnold Classic champion Victor Martinez was favored by many, if only for the fact that he had overcome a patella tear that caused him to miss the 2008 Mr. Olympia contest at Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend (won by IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson). Martinez is a thick dude with a rock-solid upper body. While there was a bit of leg imbalance and his conditioning could've been a bit more diced, the Dominican Dominator had a decent showing that helped him capture the runner-up spot.

As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," Branch Warren, who placed 4th at last year's Arnold Classic, overcame a triceps injury to claim 3rd place this year. He bulldozed onto stage with his usual slabs-o-muscle density and thick-as-phone-poles wheels that earned him the "Most Muscular" Award. While his conditioning was relatively sharp, unfortunately, his powerful build can sometimes get overlooked in the face of IFBB Pro League athletes who move with more so-called "grace." That's just not the big Texan's style.

A well-conditioned, graceful-posing Toney Freeman took 4th place. The veteran bodybuilder nicknamed "The X-man" always makes physical statement. Despite the pec tear, this consistently competitive athlete has a top-tier physique and presence to match.

Displaying physical elements of symmetry, conditioning and aesthetics, 5th place finisher Silvio Samuel has all the goods, but super-mass aficionados still say his muscle mass is not quite massive enough to win a show of this caliber. Could mass conspiracy theorists be right?

The remaining field of Arnold Classic competitors: IFBB Pro Moe El Moussawi (6th), IFBB Pro Dennis James (7th), IFBB Pro Sergey Shelestov (8th), IFBB Pro Johnnie Jackson (9th), IFBB Pro Ronny Rockel (10th), IFBB Pro Gustavo Badell (11th), IFBB Pro Ahmad Haidar (12th) and IFBB Pro Marcus Haley (13th).

The ever-expanding Arnold Sports Festival's three-day weekend included a plethora of athletics, including powerlifting, gymnastics, MMA, strongman, arm wrestling and archery; hence, there is a curiosity as to whether the popularity of the chosen sport of the event's creator is waning or growing.

Andrew Oye's Verdict: The Arnold Classic featured a stacked lineup of pro muscle competing for a major bodybuilding title bestowed by one of the sport's legends-- 7-time Mr. Olympia Arnold Schwarzenegger (who shares a distinction with other celebrated Olympia-winning bodybuilders IFBB Pro Larry Scott, IFBB Pro Sergio Oliva, IFBB Pro Frank Zane, IFBB Pro Dorian Yates, IFBB Pro Lee Haney, IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman and others).

When die-hard fans see the caliber of future pros like the Super-Heavyweight and Overall winner of the Arnold Amateur Bodybuilding Championships. Roelly Winklaar, they can only hope there is an appreciative stage for him and his future IFBB Pro card-carrying peers (such as last year's winner IFBB Pro Tarek Elsetouhi).

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index