Trust ProSource to fill all your supplement needs! Orders placed before 3pm EST ship same day. Want to speak to a customer representative? Our phones are open M-F 9-5. Click here for more information.


The Item: IFBB Pro League Olympia Preview, Fitness Industry Event, Andrew Oye's IFBB Pro Athletes Roundup

The Scoop: Just Announced: Promoters of Joe Weider's Olympia Weekend just posted the final competitors list of IFBB Pro League athletes that qualified to compete at the 2011 IFBB Olympia Bodybuilding Championships in Las Vegas, Nevada, this weekend (September 15-18).

Mr. Olympia - Open Division Qualified Competitors
IFBB Pro Fouad Abiad, IFBB Pro Troy Alves, IFBB Pro Lionel Beyeke, IFBB Pro Robert Burneika, IFBB Pro Evan Centopani, IFBB Pro Brandon Curry, IFBB Pro Jay Cutler, IFBB Pro Marius Dohne, IFBB Pro Toney Freeman, IFBB Pro K. Greene, IFBB Pro Marcus Haley, IFBB Pro Phil Heath, 2008 Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson, IFBB Pro Johnnie Jackson, IFBB Pro Michael Kefalianos, IFBB Pro Marc Lavoie, IFBB Pro James Lewis, IFBB Pro Victor Martinez, IFBB Pro Frank McGrath, IFBB Pro Cedric McMillan, IFBB Pro Evgeny Mishin, IFBB Pro Ed Nunn, IFBB Pro Robert Piotrkowicz, IFBB Pro Shawn Rhoden, IFBB Pro Craig Richardson, IFBB Pro Ronny Rockel, IFBB Pro Branch Warren, IFBB Pro Ben White, IFBB Pro Roelly Winklaar, IFBB Pro Dennis Wolf, IFBB Pro Hidetada Yamagishi.

Olympia 202 Showdown - 202 Division Qualified Competitors

IFBB Pro Al Auguste, IFBB Pro Jason Arntz, IFBB Pro Pierre Chamoun, IFBB Pro Guy Cisternino, IFBB Pro Eduardo Correa, IFBB Pro Mboya Edwards, IFBB Pro Kevin English, IFBB Pro V. Ettienne, IFBB Pro David Henry, IFBB Pro John Hodgson, IFBB Pro Jaroslav Horvath, IFBB Pro Tricky Jackson, IFBB Pro Flex Lewis, IFBB Pro James Llewellin, IFBB Pro Stan McQuay, IFBB Pro Fernando Noronha, IFBB Pro Sergio Pestano Ramos, IFBB Pro Branden Ray, IFBB Pro Jose Raymond, IFBB Pro Amit Sapir, IFBB Pro Rixio Tapia, IFBB Pro Shaun-Joseph Tavernier, IFBB Pro Marvin Ward.

The "So What?": As noted in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," Jay Cutler is aiming for his fifth Olympia Sandow trophy. Reportedly skipping the 2011 Olympia Fitness and Performance Weekend for injuries or other various reasons: Open Division athletes Branch Warren (a.k.a. "Quadrasaurus," winner of the Arnold Sports Festival's 2011 Arnold Classic Bodybuilding Championships, who injured his quad muscle), Cedric McMillan, Evan Centopani, Fouad Abiad, and Roelly Winklaar, as well as 202 Division athletes David Henry (2008 Olympia 202 Showdown Champion on military deployment), Eduardo Correa (who injured his signature triceps muscle) and Branden Ray. James "Flex" Lewis qualified for both the Open Division (3rd at Mr. Europe Pro) and 202 Division (1st at British Grand Prix, 2nd at New York Pro). Some Olympia first-timers include: Lithuania's Burneika, USA's Curry, South Africa's Dohne, USA's Rhoden, UK's Tavernier and USA's Ettienne, among others.

Andrew Oye's Verdict: Last year's event marked the 45th Anniversary of the Mr. Olympia Championships, so, this year, the atmosphere feels ripe for change among the top tier of physiques in the International Federation of Bodybuilding and Fitness. At the "Super Bowl of bodybuilding," who will triumph in their goals to follow in the footsteps of Mr. Olympia greats like IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman (current MUSCLE INK Magazine cover athlete), IFBB Pro Larry Scott, IFBB Pro Sergio Oliva, IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger, IFBB Pro Franco Columbu, IFBB Pro Frank Zane, IFBB Pro Samir Bannout, IFBB Pro Lee Haney, IFBB Pro Dorian Yates, among others? Cutler probably will. Heath probably should. D. Jackson and Greene probably could.

<< Back to Pro-Muscle Report Home , Pro-Muscle Report Index