Your Cartbodybuilding supplements cart image   Items: 0   Total: $0.00   Checkout bodybuilding supplements checkout image
Home >>

All Brands >>
All supplement brands listed A-Z

All Categories >>
Products listed by product type.

Top Rated Products

Best in Class >>
Top products that hold the coveted "Best in Class" awards

Top 50 Supplements >>'s top selling products

Exclusive Deals and Sales

Deal of the Day >>
Every day a single top-brand supplement is featured at extreme savings.

Deal of the Month >>
Each month a single top-brand product is featured at extreme savings.

Super Sales >>
Coupon codes and sale items, up to an additional 60% off already low prices!


Posted in: Articles by ProSource, Andrew Oye's Pro Muscle Report, Gossip
By Andrew Oye | Sep 14, 2010


The fitness and physique world is gearing up for the 2010 Olympia Weekend (September 24-25). The industry will gather in Las Vegas to celebrate a birthday - specifically the 45th Anniversary of The Olympia.

Allegedly, the Olympia promoters are pulling out all the stops and have invited all the former Mr. Olympia champions of years past to appear. In its previous 44 years, the IFBB Mr. Olympia contest has produced 12 champions - Larry Scott, Sergio Oliva, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Franco Columbu, Frank Zane, Chris Dickerson, Samir Bannout, Lee Haney, Dorian Yates, Ronnie Coleman, Jay Cutler and Dexter Jackson - several of whom have won the Mr. Olympia title multiple times.


This year's main event is exciting in that there are three somewhat unique potential outcomes. The three options for the next Mr. Olympia winner could be: Option 1: a former winner who only held the title for a single year (Dexter Jackson), which hasn't happened in over two decades; Option 2: a reigning champ who was the first to ever lose and regain the title in back-to-back shows (Jay Cutler); or Option 3: a completely new winner (veterans who have come close to the title and impressive rookies praying for a miracle).

A "tradition," which skipped last year's event, of odds makers, experts and armchair forecasters automatically placing the incumbent champ's name first on their Top 6 lists seems to be rekindling. Nevertheless, the dude who won last year is not technical ly guaranteed a repeat reward. In the 45th year of bodybuilding's Super bowl, the champ has a fight on his hands. 


The 2010 Mr. Olympia contest will be a clash between 3-time Mr. Olympia Jay Cutler, 2009 Olympia Runner-up Branch Warren, 2008 Mr. Olympia Dexter Jackson and the other strongest contenders - based on prior placings and pre-game buzz - 2010 Arnold Classic winner Kai Greene and 2010 Arnold Classic Runner-up Phil Heath.

The others who obtained qualifications and are slated to compete include: Olympia regulars Francisco "Paco" Bautista, Toney Freeman, Marcus Haley, Johnnie Jackson, Victor Martinez, Craig Richardson, Ronny Rockel, Bill Wilmore, Dennis Wolf, and Hidetada Yamagishi, who is recovering from a tendon strain that derailed his goal to compete in every U.S. pro show leading to the Olympia. IFBB pros qualified to make their Olympia debuts include Erik Fankhouser, Evgeny Mishin, Ed Nunn, Robert Piotrkowicz and Roelly Winklaar.

The word is that following the IFBB Mr. Europe contest on September 11, 2010, Dennis James announced intentions to retire from competitive bodybuilding after the Olympia. Two competitors who were reportedly planning to skip the show as they hunt for sponsorship are "O" vets Troy Alves and Melvin Anthony. However, IFBB Pro League sources list Alves as being back in the game. The League's roster lists first-timers Mark Alvisi and Issa Ibrahim-Obiad as qualified but not competing. Ben White qualified for the event but has opted to sit out and compete in the World's Strongest Bodybuilder powerlifting challenge.


Fairness watchdogs, conspiracy theorists and dedicated fans will be paying attention to how this year's major shifts in publishing contract sponsorships will affect the outcome of the big show, if at all. In 2010, Cutler, the reigning champ, left Weider for another company. Meanwhile, two favorite s - Heath and Greene - re-signed with and joined Team Weider, respectively. Those who subscribe to bodybuilding politics say changes off stage often play a part in placing changes on the stage.  At the end of the day, the man who has his hand raised on this special anniversary of the Olympia should have a physique worthy of the title or expect a loud outcry from skeptics.  


The lineup for the Olympia 202 Showdown is filled with rivalries and debuts. In 2009, reining champ Kevin English defeated the 2008 winner David Henry, whom many thought would rule the 202 Olympia for many consecutive years. Eduardo Correa made an impressive debut in '09, and is carrying some fan support for a possible 1st place finish at the show.

Returning with hopes to shake up the 202 ranks are Jason Arntz, Jaroslav Horvath, Roc Shabazz, and Richard "Tricky" Jackson, who has been promoting this upcoming "smack down" with fun, pre-show smack talk. Jose Raymond has a friendly rivalry with Jackson and a fan-created rivalry stemming from his controversial defeat of Henry at the 2010 Europa Battle of Champions back in July.

The athletes qualified to make their Olympia 202 Showdown debuts include Ahmad Ahmad, Luc Molines, Steve Namat, and Bola Ojex.

IFBB Pro League sources list Seth Feroce as qualified but not competing in what would have been his "O" debut. The IFBB Detroit Pro Bodybuilding Championships will take place a week before the Olympia on September 18, where some predict Mark Dugdale, who is missing from the Olympia 202 Showdown competitors list, will earn a qualification to compete in Vegas.


In the Open Division, we could see an upset in the 4-man face-off between the Weider guys (Heath and Greene) versus the non-Weider guys (Cutler and Warren). In the 202 Division, we could see an upset if Correa hurdles over the two dominators, English and Henry, depending on how they show up. Yet, all posing and politics aside, the 2010 Olympia Weekend will be and should be about the old guy (the annual contest itself) turning 45 years old. Happy B-day.


Name :

Email :

Disclaimer: The articles featured herein are for informational purposes only and should not be construed as medical advice. Specific medical advice should only be obtained from a licensed health care professional. No liability is assumed by ProSource for any information herein.

Return to Top   Report Site Errors  Click Here for Important Safety Information

More Ways to Score Deals & Discounts Site Links Store Links Content Links

Best Discounted Bodybuilding and Nutritional Supplements! - Lowest Price Bodybuilding and Nutrition Supplements!
Copyright © ProSource Performance Products, Inc. All rights reserved.
ProSource, 2231 Landmark Place, Manasquan, NJ 08736
Contact Customer Service